::free job search tips & tools::
...your job search begins here...

  Jobseeker Desktop | Employer LaunchPad | Job Search Support | The Job Files

Job Search Strategies

Buyer Beware - of Job Search sites that charge a fee for their "services"

By Roberta Dulay, Jobfiler.com

While there are a few legitimate companies out there that do charge jobseekers a fee for their services, it is my firm belief that 90% of the job search sites that ask job seekers for money are to be approached with a very large grain of caution.

For example, I was recently adding to my job site database when I happened across a Bartending Jobs portal called MixJobs.com. Now, when I have the time, I do try take the time to actually visit and review the sites, instead of simply adding them to the database. In this case, I did (lucky for you, perhaps not so lucky for them). For starters, their job search page said "Apply" rather than "Search", which I thought was curious, but ok, I bit.

I entered a bogus name and email address (since those fields were REQUIRED.... hmmmm), entered the zip code for Boulder, Colorado and pressed GO. After a very cute martini glass graphic, the search returned 14 job listings for Boulder Colorado. Each "job" read like this:

Bar / Pub (1 position available) Location: Boulder, CO 80302
call to apply

resume tips

 

Resume Resources:

10 Minute Resume
ProvenResumes.com
ResumeEdge.comresume advice

Additional Job Search Resources:

Have Jobs Emailed to You!

Ok, so I thought it was strange that online job listings would all say "call to apply" but what the heck - it was a toll free number. And their web site was so inviting with their pitch:

"Worried about experience? Don’t be. With Mixjobs an individual with little or no 
 experience can always become an integral part of the exciting and constantly growing 
 workforce of the hospitality industry."

So, I gave them a ring...

A very professional sounding young man answered the phone. His voice was deep and resonant, clearly a telemarketing or call center professional with a long career ahead of him. He asked for my extension number (the site had listed a search ID #, which I gave him). He then went on to explain that he had several jobs listed for Boulder Colorado and that he would be mailing out a package to me with the jobs listed. Along with those jobs, he would be sending me a Mixology certification course, which I would need to complete (an open book test) and return to them in order to be eligible for any of these jobs. And the punchline: all of this could be mine for only $89.

Now, aside from the fact that it is fundamentally strange to advertise jobs on the internet then offer to SNAIL MAIL them to me (that just doesn't seem right to me), I question any job posting that requires a Mixology certification in order to apply to. Apparently, prior bartending experience doesn't count at all, just whether or not you can pony up the cash and pass their open book test. When I further questioned the representative and told him that I was looking at their site for my job search portal, he quickly got off the phone. I'm guessing that at this point, I was messing up his call metrics (that is, the measure of time spent on the telephone vs. % of calls which resulted in a sale).

One Bad Apple...

Okay, so now perhaps you're thinking, "but this is just an isolated incident"... 
It's true there are some job related web sites that do offer job seekers value for their investment. The ones that I would recommend are those that offer you a service or something valuable like training, analysis, resume preparation or job search coaching.

The bottom line is that there are plenty of free job sites and services out there - if you can find what you need for free, then great. If you can't, but you find a company that offers you what you need for a reasonable price, then go for it!

What I learned from this

  • If a site requires you to register or give them any information, ask WHY.
    Is it because you need to have a personalized account for some reason (for example, saving your job search agents) or are they simply collecting your data for another purpose?
  • If a site is really slick looking, beware. Who is paying for the web design and hosting?
  • If a site displays only partial job listings with a requirement to register or call for more info, BEWARE.
  • Especially beware of sites that are apparently selling their services but don't have the honesty to openly post their pricing policies online.
  • Tip: If you're curious about a fee based site, why not post a question about them to the job search support newsgroups on Monster.com, Craig's List, TheSquare, or Jobfiler and see if anyone else has had experience with this company or web site.

 


Roberta Dulay is a project management professional, a seasoned job seeker, and the developer of Jobfiler.com. She has developed a number of career oriented web sites and has taught seminars on job search strategy for career coaches and job seekers. You can contact her through this web site.

Additional Resources >>> Career Builder :: Hot Jobshot jobs ::  Monster.com :: 6FigureJobs.comexecutive search ::  TheLadders: 100k+ Jobs  :: FlipDog :: Dice :: Job.com  :: Employment Guide.comemployment guide :: Jobs Excite ::  Jobserve.com :: Career Center ::  Career City :: Work Tree